Annie in Mexico

A great WordPress.com site

My First Week in Merida

I am here safe and sound in Merida, and it’s been a great first week. A few days before I left, I got an email from the family who runs the school saying that they would be dropping off their son in Cancun (he’s going school in the US this year) when I flew into Cancun, so they could drive me to Merida (about 3 1/3 hrs away). They also had a room ready for me when I got here. The family has been so welcoming and have helped me adjust to the city.

I will be teaching in exchange for room and board at the school. The school offers English classes for students after school, so that they can get more English exposure. This week we will start to register students, and classes start the following week. I will most likely be teaching 4th, 5th and 6th graders. I can’t wait!

This past week, I have been getting to know the city. The Gulf of Mexico is about a 25 minute drive from the city. The family’s cousins rented a beach house for a week, so we went up to the beach twice this week. Yesterday, I went to visit one of my bosses from Americorps who is living down here with her husband. It was a great way to start to get to the city via bicycle. I’m surprised how easy it is to get around on bike here! On Sundays, they close down of the major roads downtown, so that people can bike around downtown. I wasn’t adventurous enough to bike from my house to downtown this morning (about 4.5 miles), so I took a bus and rented a bike. It was a great way to see the historic district of the city.

I put up some pictures of my excursions on facebook, and will try to figure out how to put them up here sometime this week.

 

One comment on “My First Week in Merida

  1. Bob & Tammy
    August 24, 2012

    Hi Annie, glad to hear you made it and all is going great! Can’t wait to see pics. All is good here in Mankato. Bonnie said Gram got her hair cut Monday and she got some new shampoo and conditioner. Looking smart again!

    Bob didn’t go to Chippewa the last weekend he had off. We are remodeling our kitchen so he stayed home and helped remove the soffits. He is itching to go at 12:00 on the dot Friday and play a little golf.
    Thanks for doing this blog. If we can’t take a trip to Mexico we can live vicariously through your blog! Take care. Have fun and be careful. Bob & Tammy

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 20, 2012 by .
